Vendredi, 21 juin 2024, 07:24:51
Visiteurs: 186 (1224996)
home mail search login
MoldovaDOC abonnement

The annual conference of Eurodoc ''Excellence in Research – the Young Researcher's Perspective '', 2-4 April 2008, Fribourg, Switzerland...

« derriиre

The annual conference of Eurodoc ''Excellence in Research – the Young Researcher's Perspective '', 2-4 April 2008, Fribourg, Switzerland

The annual conference of Eurodoc ( took place 2nd-4th of April 2008, in Fribourg, Switzerland.

This major European gathering of young researchers and policy makers was co-organised by CSWM, the scientific collaborators of Fribourg University, and Actionuni, the Swiss Researchers’ Association. Eurodoc is the voice Ph.D. candidates and young researchers in Europe; it is a permanent partner of the European Union and of many European nations.

A large number of experts and organizations from the fields of politics, science and educational administration, higher education, and private companies contributed to the conference.

Mauro Dell’Ambrogio, Staatssekretär for Education and Research of Switzerland gave an opening address. Further speakers included Nationalrat Jaques Neirynck, member of the Swiss National Parliament, Daniel Höchli, Director of the Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF, Detlef Niese, Novartis, and Katrin Maes from the League of European Research Universities LERU.

In two workshops, delegates and participants discussed policy recommendations on “Massification of Higher Education and Research Excellence in Europe” and “The European Charter for Researchers and The Code of Conduct for the Recruitment of Researchers and Research Excellence”. The conference finished with a round table on the question „Which working conditions do young researchers need?"

At the General Assembly that took place directly after the Eurodoc conference, a new board has been elected. The new President of Eurodoc is Karoline Holländer, doctoral candidate at Flensburg University, Germany. Karoline, mother of a four year old son, was managing director at “euro-pan Services GmbH & Co. KG” (2003-2004). Now she is focussing on her PhD thesis on “Paying professors by performance”. As newly elected president, Karoline will do her best to further strengthen the position of Eurodoc as the voice of Europe’s doctoral candidates and young researchers and as a well-recognised stakeholder in European Research Area and European Higher Education Area in the coming year.

The composition of the newly elected Board is the following:
President: Karoline Holländer (Germany)
Vice-president: Paulo Silva (Portugal)
Secretary: Brigita Serafinaviciute (Lithuania)
Treasurer: Jan Holecek (Czech Republic)
Member: Stephan Kurz (Austria)
Member: Aurelien Lamy (France)
Member: Dmitri Teperik (Estonia)

The General Meeting admitted four new members (Cyprus, Finland, Georgia, FYROM) in the federation, bringing the membership to a total of 32 countries represented in Eurodoc. Possible venues for the 2009 edition, to be selected shortly, include Czech Republic and Slovakia.

The relevance of Eurodoc and of the community it represents is witnessed by the increasing recognition of young researchers as core stakeholders and partners in policy debates and actions at the national and European level during the last period, and is expected to rise significantly over the next years.



« derriиre

New Zeland meds

     Powered by Zet-Design